Quick Hair Rinse and Scalp Oil to Beat the Heat


IMG_2237

Ok Cali, it’s summer, we get it

This recipe is for wash-and-go type styles.

It is really hot and surprisingly humid today in CA, and I am the type of person who sweats profusely with a little activity. Mix the sweat with the products applied to my hair and it makes a hot, smelly mess. The odor may have been a sign of bacteria-growth, so I knew I needed to rinse and cool my scalp, but I wanted to apply something to it afterward so that it would not become dry and flaky. I did not want to go through the hassle of detangling my hair either. So I came up with the perfect compromise to hold me over until wash day.

Ingredients

1 capful grapeseed oil

1-2 drops lavender essential oil (pleasant scent) or 1-2 drops tea tree oil or peppermint oil (cooling sensation)

2 cups diluted iced tea (optional)

 

 

To Make

Mix the lavender essential oil (or tea tree or peppermint) into the grapeseed oil in a small container. Use immediately.

 

To Use

Section dry hair into 4 and band into ponytails. Apply lukewarm water to base of scalp and let water rinse at the scalp. Slowly adjust water to cool and lightly agitate scalp. As an option, stop the water and pour 2 cups of cold diluted iced tea on scalp. Once complete, allow hair to drip until it mostly stops but do not towel dry. Apply grapeseed oil mix to partings with fingers and massage into scalp area. Reapply styling product to the hair shaft and ends and air-dry to 80% dryness. Remove hair bands and scrunch hair to style.

Leave a Reply

