My Accidental Discovery of Babassu Oil For My Face


I am almost 40 years old and I still battle adult acne. I am always careful when it comes to using oil on my face. My skin is extremely prone to breakouts, especially in the summertime when I get hot and sweaty. I have been using aloe vera gel as a light primer for my makeup and it works well, but my skin needed some softening and exfoliation. I looked at all of the oils I have been buying lately for my recipes and figured one of these has to work on my skin. I chose babassu oil because it is so similar to coconut oil, but it is not as greasy and pore-clogging. I applied the oil to my face while it was still damp, and just used a light coating. I let it sit on my skin for about an hour or so, and then washed it off. After two days, my skin is soft, supple, and clear of dead skin. Next time I use the babassu oil, I may add some drops of essential oil to give it a pleasant fragrance, or even come up with a recipe for a lotion to use it in.

I wanted to share this because I know there are others out there who struggle with adult acne and the traditional advice does not work for us. Hope this helps!
IMG_3528

Babassu Oil

2 thoughts on “My Accidental Discovery of Babassu Oil For My Face

  1. This is something I will definitely be trying!!! Thank u! I’ve been using organic, unpasteurized apple cider vinegar as a toner & organic unrefined EVCoconut oil as a moisturizer, which has improved my skin dramatically but the coconut oil does tend to be greasy & not feel so good on your face. I have tried various hypoallergenic, oil free toners/moisturizers that didn’t do much for my skin other than give it a glow for an hour or so afterward, and my breakouts were still present. I use the standard apricot scrub once/week to remove dead skin but if this babassu oil can do that as well, I am beyond eager to try it! Love ur blog & advice btw 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

