Mixolo’G Scalp Massage, The Free Growth Stimulator


I pulled out my Cosmetology book from school to refresh myself on how they teach scalp massages. When I turned to the page, I couldn’t help but laugh…The technique they teach would NOT work on natural hair as thick as mine. Also, I have tried to massage my head before shampooing with oil, and that just turned into a scratching session for me. So I devised my technique, the Mixolo’G Scalp Massage Method. The most significant benefit of a scalp massage is increased blood flow to the head, which for me, has stimulated the growth of my hair.

Mixolo’G Scalp Massage Method

1. The hair should be shampooed, conditioned, and detangled first. With conditioner (preferably deep conditioner) and plastic cap on the head, sit under a warm hooded dryer for at least 30 minutes until the hair is warmed through.

2. Remove dryer heat from the hair. In a sitting or comfortable position, insert fingertips to the base of the scalp and begin to massage the scalp in an upward circular motion. Massage in the direction that the hair is detangled in to avoid creating tangles.

3. Perform the scalp manipulation until most of the heat dissipates from hair, 10-15 minutes. Place the plastic cap back on the hair and sit in a relaxed position for another 15 minutes to allow blood flow to return to normal.

4. Rinse conditioner from the hair and proceed with normal styling routine.

IMG_4171

My Hair After Scalp Massage With Conditioner

Caution

Do not perform a scalp massage if there are any scalp disorders or broken skin. Use the best judgement to decide what amount to massage pressure to use…It should feel good! Consult your physician if you have any medical concerns. There is no guarantee that scalp massage will lead to hair growth.

Please let me know what you think! ❤ Ally

Leave a Reply

